PDF icon. Download G9 PDF (164 KB)  Get Acrobat Reader.

Beginners Guide to Appraisal

1. Identify the Public Office(s)

Gather information on the history, functions, recordkeeping policies and procedures of the public office(s) responsible for creating and/or controlling the records that are being appraised.

Refer to section 6.1.2 of the Appraisal Standard and section 3 of the Guide to Preparing an Appraisal Report for a Continuing Disposal Schedule for guidance.

Search Archives New Zealand's online finding aid, Archway for information on the public office.

Back to top

2. Identify the Records

Create a list of the records being appraised and gather information on their creation and function. This may involve viewing a selection of files, or talking with the business units responsible for creating or managing the records.

Group together those records of a similar type or those that document the same function or activity of the public office. This ensures the disposal criteria is consistently applied to the same types of records covered by the appraisal.

Back to top

3. Check for Disposal Coverage or Precedents

Check whether there are any existing and relevant disposal authorities for the public office, and whether the scope of these identifies the records being appraised. If a current disposal authority does exist, it is possible that only an implementation project is required.

Email: appraisal@archives.govt.nz
Fax: 04 4956210
Phone: 04 4995595
Post: Manager, Appraisal
Archives New Zealand
PO Box 12 050
Wellington, 6144

Back to top

4. Determine Appropriate Disposal Criteria

Establish a set of criteria which outline the value of the records being appraised and underpin the disposal decision. This framework is critical for providing justification and assurance to the Chief Archivist on the quality of the retention and destruction recommendations.

Records that have value beyond the period of their usefulness to the public office and should be retained as public archives can be grouped into 2 categories:

  1. Evidential.
  2. Informational.

Records that have short-term value to a public office and can be destroyed when no longer needed by the public office can often be grouped into 3 overlapping categories:

  1. Administrative.
  2. Fiscal.
  3. Legal.

It should be noted that the Public Records Act 2005 does not override other legislative requirements or legal obligations to retain records.

Some records of administrative, fiscal and legal value may also be of evidential and/or informational value, and warrant permanent retention as archives.

Back to top

5. Evaluate the Records Against Disposal Criteria

Records fall into 3 categories – those easy to appraise because they have obvious permanent value; those easy to appraise because they have obvious short-term value; and those in-between that are difficult to appraise.

To assist in determining whether records are of permanent value as archives, consider:

Back to top

6. Determine Specific Retention Periods and Trigger Points

After the records have been evaluated, the public office needs to decide how long it will continue to manage the records before they are transferred to Archives New Zealand or destroyed. This is called the retention period.

When determining the retention period, consider:

Any conflicting requirements for retention can be resolved by choosing the longest retention requirement.

The retention period needs to be combined with a trigger point. This is the point from which the disposal action is taken.

This may be expressed in 2 ways:

  1. A cut-off period after records are created and/or closed, for example, "Transfer to Archives 10 years after last date on file".
  2. A fixed period after a predictable event, for example, "Destroy 6 years after end of financial year".

For a one-off appraisal, it is possible that the records have already been retained beyond any business or legal requirement. In such cases, inclusion of a retention period and trigger point is not necessary.


Back to top

7. Consider Other Stakeholders

Archives New Zealand advocates that the rights and interests of all stakeholders should be considered as part of the appraisal process. Stakeholders include the management and business units of the public office, its clients, other public offices, internal advisory groups, and community stakeholders. Community stakeholders include advocacy or interest groups, or experts who have a particular interest in the public office's records.

Experts within the public office, especially those who are involved with the creation and use of the records, may be of assistance in making or reviewing recommendations regarding potential long term value to the community.


Back to top

8. Draft an Appraisal Report

A report containing the information discovered in steps 1-3 and documenting the recommendations in steps 4-7, should be prepared.

A disposal list or disposal schedule should also be prepared to accompany the report.

Electronic and hard copies of the appraisal report and disposal list or disposal schedule should be sent to the Appraisal Section for review against the Appraisal Standard prior to it being submitted to the Chief Archivist for consideration.

Contact details:
Manager, Appraisal
Archives New Zealand
PO Box 12 050
Wellington, 6144
Email: appraisal@archives.govt.nz