PDF icon. Download G6 PDF (508KB)  Get Acrobat Reader.

 A GUIDE TO DEVELOPING A RECORDKEEPING POLICY

APPENDIX: SAMPLE RECORDKEEPING POLICY

> INTRODUCTION

This Sample Recordkeeping Policy outlines the different components of a recordkeeping policy. A good recordkeeping policy will be tailored specifically to the organisation in which it is promulgated. In this example, the policy applies to a fictitious Ministry of Best Practice, governed by an equally fictitious Best Practice Act 1998. Some of these sample policy statements may be easily adapted to suit your organisation while others may not. For this Ministry, an electronic recordkeeping system that manages both paper and electronic records is outlined. However, in your policy document you will need to describe the recordkeeping system, legislative and regulatory environment, responsibilities, terminology, etc., that apply to your own organisation.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

MINISTRY OF BEST PRACTICE RECORDKEEPING POLICY
Date of Effect 1 February 2002
Date of Last Revision 1 February 2006
Contact Corporate Information Officer

1. > PURPOSE

The purpose of this policy is to provide a framework and assign responsibilities for ensuring that full and accurate records of the business activities of the Ministry of Best Practice are created. It aims to ensure that these records are managed and maintained for as long as they are required to support business functions and accountabilities until their disposal in accordance with the authorised retention and disposal schedule.

Back to top

2. > SCOPE

This policy applies to all staff of the Ministry of Best Practice, whether permanent or temporary, including contractors and volunteers.

This policy applies to all business activities performed by or on behalf of the Ministry, in whatever manner they are conducted. This includes all written correspondence, whether paper or electronic, and all spoken transactions, including meetings and telephone calls. Equally, it covers all records of these activities regardless of the media in which they are captured.

All of the Ministry's policies, practices, systems, and procedures pertaining to recordkeeping are to be consistent with this policy.

Back to top

3. > POLICY STATEMENT

The Ministry of Best Practice is committed to achieving government aims as stated in the Best Practice Act 1998. It will ensure support for all staff to achieve the outcomes of the Ministry and delivery of services to public and to government. The Ministry affirms that the promotion and practice of good recordkeeping is a key strategic focus for meeting these outcomes.

The Ministry is subject to the Public Records Act 2005. This requires the creation and maintenance of full and accurate records that support the day-to-day functions and business activities of the Ministry. These records provide evidence of these functions and activities and form part of the public record. Through its commitment to best practice recordkeeping, the Ministry acknowledges its accountability to government, to its clients, and to the community.

Back to top

4. > GUIDELINES

4.1 > RECORDS MANAGEMENT SYSTEM

The Ministry maintains an electronic records management system, 'Best Practice Records' [BPR], for the management of all public records in all media (excluding records already held in core business information systems). The key processes managed by this system include:

BPR is to be used in the Head Office and in all regional offices. Electronic records are to be captured directly into BPR. Paper and other records are to be registered into BPR and filed appropriately in the corporate filing system for physical files. Physical files may be stored in designated areas of Head Office and each of the regional offices.

The Corporate Information Officer is responsible for the operation and maintenance of BPR in all offices, with technical support from the IT division. User guidelines have been issued to all staff and are accessible on the intranet and on the system itself.

Core business systems maintaining public records outside BPR include the:

The Corporate Information Officer works with the managers responsible for these systems to make sure that records are managed and maintained as required in these systems.

4.2 > RECORDKEEPING PRINCIPLES

This Ministry expects that:

Back to top

5. > REGULATORY FRAMEWORK

Relevant legislation with which this policy complies includes:

This policy also complies with the following Standards and Codes:

Back to top

6. > RESPONSIBILITIES

The Chief Executive is responsible for:

The Corporate Information Officer is responsible for:

Each Group Manager is responsible for:

All Staff are responsible for:

Back to top

7. > MONITORING AND REVIEW

This policy will be regularly monitored and reviewed to ensure that it remains relevant to the organisation's business aims and requirements. Staff compliance with the policy and associated procedures will be monitored on an ongoing basis through staff self-assessment and by group managers, and by the Corporate Information Officer. The next date for policy review is February 2008. The review will be conducted by the Corporate Information Officer.

Back to top

8. > AUTHORISATION

Approved

Joan Doe
Chief Executive
Ministry of Best Practice
Date: 1 February 2006

Back to top

APPENDIX 1. > DEFINITIONS

For the purposes of this policy, the following definitions apply. They are based on the definitions included in Archives New Zealand Glossary of Archives and Recordkeeping Terms.

Accountability

The "principle that individuals, organisations, and the community are responsible for their actions and may be required to explain them to others". (ISO 15489-2001, Part 1, 3.2)

Business activity

An umbrella term covering all functions, processes, activities and transactions of the Ministry of Best Practice and its employees. (Based on AS 4390-1996, Part 1, 4.6)

Capture

A deliberate action which results in the registration of a record into the Ministry's recordkeeping system. For certain business activities, this action has been designed into electronic systems so that the capture of the records is concurrent with the creation of records. (Based on DIRKS, Glossary, p.4 taken from AS 4390- 1996, Part 1, 4.7)

Disposal

The final decision concerning the fate of records, i.e. destruction or transfer to archives. This also includes the programme of activities to support transfer such as surveys, scheduling, and records destruction. (Keeping Archives, p.467)

All Ministry records disposal will be in accordance with the authorised Retention and Disposal Schedule.

Electronic records

Any record that is created or stored by digital means. Includes documents, databases, and e-mail.

Migration

The "act of moving records from one system to another, while maintaining the records' authenticity, integrity, reliability, and usability". (ISO 15489-2001, Part 1, 3.13)

Public records

Records created by a public office, such as the Ministry of Best Practice, in the conduct of its affairs.

Record/s

Information including a document, a signature, a seal, text, images, sound, speech or date compiled, recorded, or stored -

Recordkeeping

"The creation and maintenance of complete accurate and reliable evidence of business transactions in the form of recorded information." (AS 4390-1996, Part 1, 4.19)

Recordkeeping systems

"[I]nformation systems which capture, maintain and provide access to records over time." (AS 4390-1996, Part 1, 4.20) In the Ministry of Best Practice, the official recordkeeping system is its central electronic records management system.

Vital Records

Those records without which the Ministry could not continue to function.

Back to top

APPENDIX 2. > REFERENCES

The following sources provide further information and were used in the preparation of this policy:

Archives New Zealand, Continuum Resource Kit, http://continuum.archives.govt.nz/

Best Practice Act 1998.

Employment Relations Act 2000.

International Standards Organisation, ISO 15489, Information and Documentation – Records Management, Geneva, 2001. (ISO 15489)

Ministry of Best Practice, Disaster Preparedness Plan, October 1999.

Ministry of Best Practice, Records Management Procedural Guide, February 2001.

Official Information Act 1982.

Public Service Code of Conduct. Privacy Act 1993.

Public Records Act 2005.