PDF icon. Download G2 PDF (481KB)  Get Acrobat Reader.

 A GUIDE TO LISTING AND BOXING

2. > THE TRANSFER PROCESS

The process of transferring records includes the following steps, described in more detail below:

  1. > Contact Archives New Zealand
  2. > Ensure that you have a valid disposal authority
  3. > Prepare the records for transfer
  4. > Determine the access status of the records
  5. > Initiate transfer
  6. > After transfer

2.1. > CONTACT ARCHIVES NEW ZEALAND

Contact Archives New Zealand as early as possible, before you start any listing or transfer work. This will ensure that correct procedures are followed and that the transfer process will run smoothly. Transfers of records may be refused if, for example, the records are not listed and boxed to the required standard.

Archives New Zealand has four repositories that hold public archives, in Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin. We will direct your transfer to one of these repositories, based on the location of your office.

You should also be aware that a planned transfer programme is operated by the Wellington Head Office. It is important to contact this Office in advance to book a place in the programme.

Contact the Head of Arrangement and Description on (04) 499-5595 or at transfer@archives.govt.nz. In Auckland, Christchurch or Dunedin contact the Regional Archivist at auckland@archives.govt.nz, christchurch@archives.govt.nz, or dunedin@archives.govt.nz. An archivist will liaise with you, and will outline the procedures for preparing records for transfer.

Back to top

2.2. > ENSURE THAT YOU HAVE A VALID DISPOSAL AUTHORITY

Make sure that that you have a valid disposal authority covering the records. A disposal authority is legal permission from the Chief Archivist to dispose of public records by destruction or transfer. If you are not sure whether your organisation has a valid disposal authority, contact Archives New Zealand and we will check if your organisation's records are covered. A disposal schedule is not valid if:

If you do not have a valid disposal authority for the records, contact the Government Recordkeeping Group at Archives New Zealand for advice on how to obtain one. Before transfer, you will also need to ensure that use of the records has ceased and that any specified retention periods have been met.

It is your responsibility to destroy non-current records which have been authorised for destruction. You need to ensure that destruction is carried out in an appropriate and secure manner, and to maintain records of what has been destroyed. (See Fact Sheet F9: Methods of Destruction for advice on authorised disposal.)

Back to top

2.3. > PREPARE THE RECORDS FOR TRANSFER

Contact Archives New Zealand before preparing records for transfer. For transfers to the Wellington Head Office of Archives New Zealand it is important to book a place in the planned transfer programme before proceeding.

An archivist will outline the procedures to follow in preparing records for transfer. You will need to discuss series arrangements. Do not rearrange or rebox records without first checking with the transfer archivist. Archives New Zealand has set standards for compiling transfer lists and boxing records approved for transfer. These standards ensure that the list can be imported into Archives New Zealand's online finding aids, Archway, for future access. These standards are outlined in the body of this guide. It is important that your transfer list and boxed records meet these standards. Failure to do so may prevent or delay acceptance of the transfer.

After agreement on any specific conditions for transfer, complete a Transfer Agreement form. These are available in hard copy and can be downloaded from our website.

Back to top

2.4. > DETERMINE THE ACCESS STATUS

Considering whether or not there is a need to place restrictions on records is an important step in the transfer process. You will need to discuss appropriate access conditions with your transfer archivist. An Access Authority form must be completed and submitted with the Transfer Agreement form. Copies of the form are available from Archives New Zealand or from our website. You may be able to re-use an existing Access Authority for similar types of records. (For further information, see Advisory Notice A6: Making Access Decisions Under the Public Records Act.)

Back to top

2.5. > INITIATE TRANSFER

Submit the Transfer Agreement and Access Authority forms with the transfer list. While the transfer list must be submitted in electronic format (e.g. as an e-mail attachment or on disk), the Transfer Agreement and Access Authority must be signed in hardcopy, and submitted by fax or post. This provides evidence of the authenticity of the agreements.

After an initial audit of the list, the transfer archivist will usually undertake an on-site examination of the boxed items. When the transfer archivist is satisfied that the records are ready to be physically transferred, he or she will arrange a time for the records to be delivered to Archives New Zealand.

Back to top

2.6. > AFTER TRANSFER

Archives New Zealand will return countersigned copies of both the Access Authority and the Transfer Agreement to you as part of the final receipt of transfer, along with the transfer list that has been processed by the transfer archivist. This provides a definitive record of items transferred to Archives New Zealand for that particular transfer. Your organisation should file these documents for future reference.

Following processing by Archives New Zealand, you will be able to find information about all records your organisation has transferred by consulting our electronic archival management system, Archway, which is available online at: www.archway.archives.govt.nz/

The Government Loans Service enables agencies to access their own records held by Archives New Zealand. Agencies should contact the Government Loans Officer at Wellington Head Office: government.loans@archives.govt.nz. For Auckland, Christchurch, or Dunedin, contact: auckland@archives.govt.nz, christchurch@archives.govt.nz, or dunedin@archives.govt.nz.