All records, regardless of their size and shape, must be packaged for transfer to Archives New Zealand. To help preserve records for future use it is important that they are properly packaged. This packaging:
All transferring public offices have the right to borrow back records deposited at Archives New Zealand through the Government Loans Service. The ease and speed with which those records are retrieved and loaned back is dependent on how the records are boxed prior to transfer. A file or block of papers can be lost indefinitely if it is placed in the wrong box.
Correct boxing also ensures that records are in adequate condition for use. Careless or incorrect packaging can damage records, rendering them useless to future Archives users. Appropriate packaging will depend on the format of the records and archives involved. For example, flat plans and maps should be placed in acid-free plan folders of appropriate size. Specialised packaging is particularly important for media such as photographic material.
Until they have been correctly boxed, records will not be accepted for transfer to Archives New Zealand.
Archives New Zealand can provide boxes for a wide range of record types. They are provided free of charge to public offices boxing records for transfer to Archives New Zealand. You are responsible for arranging their pickup from Archives New Zealand and delivery.
You can also obtain boxes for the storage of records not destined for transfer. This is a chargeable service. Please contact Archives New Zealand for further information.
Archives New Zealand provides a variety of boxes to accommodate a wide range of record types, including maps and plans, card indexes, bound volumes, loose papers, photographs, and oversized material. Please speak with the transfer archivist regarding the box type(s) best suited to store the records.
Where appropriate, Archives New Zealand prefers the London box for transfers of standard-sized file material. The London box measures 375 x 210 x 245 (internal measurements, depth x width x height, mm). It is reasonably light when full, and facilitates improved health and safety practices as it is more easily moved by public office and Archives New Zealand staff.
Appropriate packaging will depend on the format, size, and weight of the records to be transferred. For example, flat plans and maps should be placed in acid-free plan folders. Some records, such as photographic material, will require specialised packaging. For health and safety reasons, heavier items such as bound volumes should be packaged into smaller boxes, as can be supplied from Archives New Zealand. The transfer archivist will be able to advise you on appropriate packaging.
Try not to over-fill or under-fill the boxes. There should be a space of about 2-3 cm between the top of the files and the top edge of the box. As the boxes have been designed to maximise the use of space at Archives New Zealand, over-filled boxes will not fit on our shelves. In an under-filled box the files are more likely to move and thus to become damaged.
If the lid does not fit correctly, the box is too full. The material will require either a bigger box or an additional box. Please consult the transfer archivist for assistance.
Turn the box on its side. Place the files into the box with the tags facing left.
When the box is half full, place the remaining files with the file tag facing the right. This saves room and ensures that the boxes are filled evenly. Leave a small space at the top of the box to ensure that it is not overloaded.
When boxing files in folder covers, place the edge of the binding at the bottom of the box. This avoids damage to the files, and ensures that they remain in adequate condition for use.