The body of the template, reproduced below, lists information about each individual item.
Each row of the table must record all the relevant information about each individual item. If the items are part of a registered or other form of filing system, they must be arranged and listed in the order imposed by that system. Please discuss with the transfer archivist prior to listing and boxing if this presents difficulties.
The elements comprising the body of the template are:
Each agency registered by Archives New Zealand is identified by a unique four letter code in upper case. This will be allocated to the agency by the transfer archivist.
This field is constant for the entire list, and MS Excel enables the field to be autofilled as a timesaving technique. Please see 4.6.5 Formatting for instructions on autofilling.
Archives need to be listed and boxed in order, according to their series.1 This must be discussed with the transfer archivist prior to listing and boxing. Series codes are allocated by Archives New Zealand following transfer, and are not required for listing purposes.
This field repeats the accession number as entered in the Header. It remains constant for the entire list, and MS Excel enables the field to be autofilled as a timesaving technique. See section 4.6.5 Formatting for instructions on autofilling.
You will need to give all containers and loose items a number which assigns them a place in a storage sequence. It is essential to include the box number for each individual item. Please use the number only; do not include the word 'box' or 'item' in this field.
If the items are not boxed (e.g. large volumes), it may be appropriate to put an item number in this field. Please discuss this option with the transfer archivist prior to listing.
This is the full code or classification given to the item by the creating agency when it is registered into a recordkeeping system. The entire reference number of an item should be recorded in this field, including any sub-series abbreviations. Examples include:
The transfer archivist is available to discuss listing items from such systems, or anomalies found within them.
If the items to be listed are not part of a registered filing system, they may not have a record number. If there is no record number, leave this field blank.
A single record may, for filing or storage purposes, be broken into more than one physical unit or part.
Each part or volume must have its own full list entry, not e.g. 'parts 1-4'. If numeric, the part/volume should be written in Arabic, not Roman, numerals, i.e. '1' not 'i'. Do not include the word 'part' in this field.
If an item does not have a part or volume number, leave this field blank.
Note: Part numbers can be assigned if there is more than one item with the same title and/or record number. In such cases the part number should be entered in square brackets [ ] on the list, and also pencilled on the physical item.
The item description is the title given to a record. List the full title with all its component parts. For records from registered filing systems, this should incorporate both the title of any sub-series (i.e. classification group) to which the item belongs, as well as the individual title of the item.
e.g. Personnel – Recruitment – Building Services Manager
(Sub-series) (Individual title)
Repeat full information for each item - do not use 'ditto'. If the items to be listed come from a recordkeeping system where titles include a lot of repeated information, you can use the 'with sub-series' version of the list template. This allows repeated information to be autofilled rather than entered individually for each record. See section 4.6.4. 'With sub-series' version for further information.
Some important points to be aware of when listing record titles include:
If the item has a clear and complete original title, transcribe this into the list.
If the original title does not adequately convey the matters covered in the item, it can be enhanced by adding a clarifying phrase at the end of the original title. This must be enclosed in square brackets.
e.g. Legislation [establishment of quarantine research station on Somes Island]
If the item is clearly part of a sub-series (i.e. a classification group), but the sub-series title has not been written on the item, provide this in square brackets.
e.g. [Training within Industry - ] Field organisation - Lower Hutt
If the item has no original title, make one up and enclose it in square brackets. Examine the content of the item and compose a suitable title which should include, where appropriate, the form of the material comprising the item, and a phrase reflecting function, activity, subject, location or theme. The description should focus on the item as a whole.
e.g. [Ethel the Aardvark goes quantity surveying] [Photograph album of Ethel the Aardvark's quantity surveying, Taupo]
In the case of obvious spelling mistakes, correct the word. This can be a direct substitution. It is not necessary to transcribe the error and then add the correction in square brackets.
Either the English or American spelling of words is accepted, e.g. colour or color. Where a dictionary recognises variations in spelling as valid, then either will be accepted. The interchangeable use of 'z' and 's' is a common example of this.
Do not update old spellings which may no longer be in current use, or replace historical place names.
e.g. Do not replace 'gaol' with 'jail'.
Do not replace 'Ceylon' with 'Sri Lanka'.
Records which are part of a registered filing system often have several parts to their titles. In some cases there may not be any clear punctuation used to separate the different parts of the titles. When listing such records, hyphens should be used to separate the different elements of each title.
e.g. Accommodation - Hamilton - General
Acronyms and abbreviations must as a general rule be written in full. This maximises the return on key word searching in Archives New Zealand's finding aids, and ensures that content and context is as clear as possible. Transfer lists using abbreviations and acronyms may not be accepted. The following rules apply:
These are the years in which the earliest and latest records on the item were created. These may differ from the dates recorded on the cover of an item, and may or may not be the first and last sequential records.
Open/close dates should be recorded as four digit years, e.g. 1967. If it is considered important, days and months may be recorded in square brackets [ ] in the Item description/title field. In the case of an item opening or closing in one year, the year should be given as both the open and close date.
It is important that you check the physical item for dates. Some examples are:
Guidelines for recording probable or uncertain dates:
| ?1892 | probable date (i.e. I think the year was 1892) |
| c.1892 | approximate date (i.e. I think the year was about 1892, give or take a few years) |
| [no date] | date unknown (i.e. no date) |
| ?1890 | probable decade - in which case the close date will be: ?1899 |
| ?1899 | probable decade - in which case the open date will be: ?1890 |
1 A series is defined as:
Those records or archives having the same provenance which belong together because:
A series may consist of one item.
Also referred to as a record series.
(Archives New Zealand, G5: Glossary of Archives and Recordkeeping Terms).