3. How to Sentence Records
See Appendix A for a flowchart for sentencing records
Back to top
Steps for Sentencing
-
Determine the appropriate disposal authority for the records being sentenced.
- Do the records being sentenced reflect a core function (that is, a primary
duty or responsibility) of your public office? If so, then only an authorised
disposal authority, not a GDA, can be used to sentence these records. If
you do not have one, or are unsure about application, please contact the
Appraisal section at Archives New Zealand at appraisal@archives.govt.nz.
-
Identify the relevant disposal class for the records being sentenced.
- Use the class description or examples in the disposal authority. Note that
any list of examples is not exhaustive, so try to link the records to the
activities being described in the disposal authority.
- Examine the contents of records, or scope notes for any classification system
in which the record was created.
- If more than one class is appropriate, choose the one with the longest
retention period.
Ensure that the files contain metadata on their retention periods, disposal
triggers and disposal actions as outlined in the disposal authority.
- For electronic records, this can be attached to the appropriate file in an
electronically managed system. For paper systems, this can be written on
the file cover.
Confirm whether the disposal trigger has already taken place, for example, "seven years from date of last action on the file". If the disposal trigger has
not yet taken place (i.e. the file is still being used), then set a review date for
the future.
Confirm that the prescribed retention period has been met. If the retention
period has yet to be reached, then set a review date for the future.
-
If all of the above has been satisfied, then confirm this, obtain internal approval
from the appropriate level of management according to your procedures, and
implement the disposal action (i.e. destroy or transfer to Archives New Zealand
etc.).
-
Update your organisational control records. These may be
electronic record management systems, or a disposal register
with information that documents what happened to a file,
and under what authority it was disposed of. See Appendix D for an example of a disposal register.
When sentencing legacy records, steps 4 and 5 can occur simultaneously. For example,
records on property management match a class in a disposal authority; the action is to
destroy seven years from closure; the record was closed nine years ago; therefore the
record can be destroyed immediately.

Back to top
General Rules for Sentencing
- Core records versus administrative records
The GDAs only cover routine administrative records and are not to be used
for a public office’s core records (i.e. those relecting primary duties and
responsibilities). Sometimes core records can appear to be administrative and
vice-versa. If you are unsure about which authority to apply, please contact
Archives New Zealand staff at appraisal@archives.govt.nz.
- Finding a disposal class
If you cannot find a disposal class that fits with the records being sentenced,
then put them to one side. Consult with colleagues or the business unit
responsible for creating the record to help clarify which class it fits. If you are still
unsure, contact Archives New Zealand staff at appraisal@archives.govt.nz.
- Use the longest retention period
If a record fits into more than one disposal class, always use the class with
the longest retention period. For example, where file examination suggests it
could fit into a class that says "destroy 7 years after date of last action", or into
another class that says "destroy 10 years after date of last action", then retain
the whole file for 10 years.
- Never cull records from a file
Never cull records from a file. Culling records destroys the integrity of the file
by breaking the transactional chain of evidence. That is, a record by itself may
be of very little value, but in context of the other records in the same file, it holds
significant evidence.
- Files with more than one part
When files have more than one part, you can generally sentence each part as
a separate item and destroy or retain them according to the disposal authority.
However, it is possible that file parts being sentenced will contain information
that the business requires to understand the active file part. Use your own
judgement and common sense. For example, an Official Information Act (OIA)
request file opened in 1999 has a new part started each year, so parts 1999-
2001 files can be destroyed in 2007, if the disposal class authorises destruction
after five years.
- Copies
Make sure you can identify the original file documenting a particular activity of
your organisation. For example, copies of a contract may be held with a business
unit for reference purposes, but the original signed contracts are retained by the
finance department. Copies can be destroyed using classes 1.6 or 1.7 of GDA3:
General Housekeeping Records.
- Handle with care
When sentencing records, you may be handling fragile formats. Please ensure
your sentencers understand any specific requirements for handling these.
Similarly, for older audio-visual or digital material held on portable storage
formats, such as microfiche or CD, make sure that you have the correct
equipment to view the records. Do not try and force a format to read on
unsuitable machines.
- Sentencing problem records
During the sentencing project, you may come across records that are dificult
to it within a disposal class. Outlined below are some tips.
- Look at the file cover. The file title and/or number should tell you which
series or group the record comes from, or which business unit created it.
The cover may also have a date, giving you some idea of the age of the
record. Beware that file titles, especially for older records, can be misleading.
If unsure, then check the contents of the file.
- Consult the business unit responsible for creating the record. If it is a recent
record, they may be able to tell you why it was created and what aspect of
business activity it relates to.
- Check to see if anyone consulted the file after it was closed. The user may
be able to provide guidance for sentencing. This may also indicate that the
record contains active reference material and should not be disposed of.
- If the record could it into a class recommended for retention as archives
and a class recommended for destruction, then choose the archival class.
- If you come across records which do not it into any disposal class, it is
possible that they have not been appraised. Rather than forcing it into
a disposal class, the records should be appraised separately.
If you have any questions about sentencing, then please contact the Archives
New Zealand Appraisal section at appraisal@archives.govt.nz.
Back to top
Records Over 25 Years Old
Under s21 of the Public Records Act 2005, every public ofice must transfer to Archives
New Zealand all public records that have been in existence for 25 years that are
recommended for transfer under a disposal authority. Practically, this will affect only
a small portion of records authorised for retention as public archives.
When sentencing, you may come across records of more than 25 years old and find
that they are still required by your organisation for business purposes. In this instance,
a deferral of transfer under s22 of the Public Records Act 2005 must be sought. If
the records are not required by your organisation, then they should be transferred to
Archives New Zealand as part of the normal transfer process.
When sentencing, you may come across records that have a retention period of more
than 25 years but are not to be retained as public archives. In this instance, a deferral
of transfer is not required
Please contact Archives New Zealand at transfer@archives.govt.nz if you need more
information about deferral of transfer.